Blood Orange Smoothie

IMG_2545

Up until a month ago, I had never tried a blood orange. I’m not crazy over regular oranges, but I think the deep red color of a blood orange has always intrigued me. At my local market, I saw that they were selling blood oranges and the next week they were on sale. I bought a few and had no idea what to do with them, so they ended up going into some homemade sangria over the holidays.

This time when I bought some, I decided they would be the main ingredient in a fresh drink. Blood oranges are in season during the winter months, so now is the perfect time to pick some up. While they don’t sell them at my local grocery store, I was able to find them at a specialty produce market in town. Blood oranges are slightly more tart than other oranges and have a more intense citrus flavor. The juice is a beautiful color and I thought it would be especially appealing in a healthy smoothie.

This Blood Orange Smoothie combines fresh blood orange juice, frozen peaches, and bottled orange juice. You can also add some vanilla Greek yogurt for a creamier consistency and for extra protein. This smoothie is refreshing and full of citrus flavor, and the boost of vitamin C will help to lift your spirits a gloomy winter day like today. I would have to say it’s one of my favorite smoothie creations yet!

Blood Orange Smoothie

Ingredients:
makes 1 8-oz serving

  • 1 cup frozen peaches (you could also use frozen mango or pineapple if you prefer)
  • juice from 2 blood oranges, about 1/3 cup
  • 1/4 cup orange juice (I used Simply Orange with mango)
  • optional: 1/3 cup vanilla yogurt*

*I didn’t use the yogurt and I would also like to note that I added a small handful of frozen raspberries to achieve a more vibrant color, but they are not necessarily important for this recipe.

IMG_2508

Directions:

Simply combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

IMG_2512
Use a juicer or simply squeeze the oranges to get as much of the juice out as possible. I got this cute little juicer on sale at Target for $2!
IMG_2518
Add all ingredients to blender and blend until smooth
IMG_2523
Pour into a glass and enjoy 🙂

IMG_2560

12 Comments Add yours

  1. bepcity says:

    I LOVE blood orange anything. This looks and sounds amazing!

    1. hp11260 says:

      I’m also quickly becoming a huge fan of blood oranges! This smoothie is full of blood orange flavor 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    This is really beautiful! I’m a huge fan of blood oranges, and am ecstatic that it’s blood orange season.

    1. hp11260 says:

      Thank you, and me too! I had always thought they were a summer fruit, but it’s nice to have some fresh citrus in the winter 🙂

    1. hp11260 says:

      Thank you! 🙂

  3. Very good information. Lucky me I discovered your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have saved it for later!

    1. hp11260 says:

      I’m glad you found it! 🙂

Leave a comment