Chicken Tortilla Soup

Standard

IMG_5863

Hello! I’m still alive. Life continues to get the best of me and therefore I haven’t posted a new recipe in 3 months. This was a rough winter (the worst I can remember) and now that it’s light out later, I find myself with more opportunities to photograph (yay!).

Chicken Tortilla Soup is a recipe I’ve been wanting to make for a long time. I was inspired recently by Dan’s and my favorite Mexican restaurant in the area – El Pelon Taqueria. A few months ago they started serving Chicken Tortilla Soup and I’ve been getting it almost every time I go there. Their recipe is pretty simple – just tomatoes, chicken, tortilla strips, avocado and cheese – which I love, but I wanted to add more veggies.

My version of Chicken Tortilla Soup includes chicken cooked in a flavorful chicken broth with tomatoes, spices, peppers, corn, and lime juice. The best part of the soup (in my opinion) is the toppings – tortilla strips, cheese, avocado, sour cream! 🙂 The soup comes together pretty quickly and makes for great leftovers as well.

Chicken Tortilla Soup
makes 4 – 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 large green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 quart chicken stock or broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 14.5 oz can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • Half of one 6 oz. can tomato paste
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp paprika (smoked paprika recommended!)
  • 2 – 3 tsp chili powder or chipotle pepper powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • salt, to taste
  • 4 (raw) chicken tenders (about 3/4 lb)
  • 1 1/4 cups frozen corn
  • juice of 1 lime (about 2 tsp)
  • Toppings: tortilla strips, shredded cheese, diced avocado, sour cream

IMG_5845

Directions:

  1. Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a large cooking pot/sauce pan. Add onion and peppers and sauté for about 10-15 minutes or until softened. Add garlic and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes.
  2. Pour in chicken stock, water, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, spices, and salt. Stir well and bring to a boil.
  3. Once boiling, add chicken. Cook for about 10 minutes or until chicken is cooked throughout. Remove chicken from pot, shred into bite-sized pieces, and return to pot.
  4. Add corn and lime juice. Continue to simmer for another 5-10 minutes.
  5. Serve soup with your favorite toppings and enjoy!

IMG_5847

IMG_5848

IMG_5851

IMG_5864

IMG_5865

About Hungry Hannah

I work at a children's hospital by day, and become a mad scientist in my kitchen by nighttime. The focus of this blog is fresh and healthy cooking, though sometimes you'll find some sweet treats or rich dishes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

