Honey Mustard Chicken Wrap

IMG_3603

After a crazy few days last week, I’m ready to get back on track with my posts.

This recipe was inspired by my sister-in-law, Mirva. Mirva, my brother Chris, and my niece Naomi live only a few miles away from me so I’m often over their house spending time with them or watching the little one. Mirva often likes to experiment with cooking and she is nice enough to share her creations with me, which I always enjoy. Recently when I was over, she made chicken baked in honey mustard sauce. It was so tasty and reminded me of how much I enjoy honey mustard.

In typical Hannah fashion, I thought of how I could re-create this recipe in a slightly healthier way. That thick, creamy honey mustard sauce you’re used to being served in restaurants is typically made with lots of mayonnaise. I do eat mayo every once in a while, but I thought a good substitute for this recipe would be – you guessed it – Greek yogurt. Greek yogurt is fat-free or low-fat and loaded with protein, compared to mayonnaise, which is fatty and has less nutritional value. Making this simple swap gives you honey mustard sauce that is still thick and creamy, but a bit tangier and much healthier.

This Honey Mustard Chicken Wrap includes tender chicken, fresh tomatoes, spinach, a sprinkle of cheese, and is finished off with a light and super easy-to-make 3-ingredient honey mustard sauce. It’s a filling and flavorful wrap that you can feel good about eating, and the sauce could be used for a number of other recipes.

Honey Mustard Chicken Wrap
makes one wrap

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard
  • 3/4 tsp honey
  • 1 whole wheat wrap
  • 1 small breast grilled or baked chicken
  • 2 slices of tomato
  • small handful of fresh spinach (or lettuce)
  • 1-2 Tbsp shredded cheese

IMG_3589

Directions:

 To prepare the honey mustard sauce, whisk together the Greek yogurt, yellow mustard, and honey in a small bowl until smooth. Set aside. Lay out your wrap on a flat surface and layer with chicken, tomato, spinach, and cheese. Pour honey mustard sauce on top and roll up your wrap tightly. Enjoy with a salad or some sweet potato fries 🙂

April Food
Prepare the honey mustard sauce by combing mustard, honey, and Greek yogurt.
IMG_3592
Lay out your wrap and place chicken on first
April Food-001
Pile up with your toppings: honey mustard sauce, cheese (optional), tomato, and spinach or lettuce
IMG_3600
Roll up your wrap and enjoy 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jill says:

    Looks delicious and healthy! Yum!

Leave a Reply

