Sliced Baked Sweet Potatoes

Sliced Baked Sweet Potatoes

Recently, I’ve come to enjoy sweet potatoes more and more and wanted to incorporate them into my cooking. My roommate Emily eats sweet potatoes often and I was inspired by the way she prepares them. She makes sweet potato chips by slicing them very thinly, drizzling them with olive oil, and baking them. I found that I actually liked the thick, chewy pieces and so I started purposely cutting the potato in thicker slices and baking it that way. This is a savory spin-off of the sweet potato chips she made recently, which you can find the recipe for on her blog, Stay Healthy, Stay Happy – right here.

 

your ingredients
Start by slicing your sweet potato...
...and arranging them on a cookie sheet, with olive oil and spices.

Sweet potatoes are still a large source of carbs (as are white potatoes), but are full of vitamins A and C. They’re a great side choice along with white meat, such as chicken. There are endless options of what you can do with a sweet potato: bake it, mash it, fry it, eat it in dessert form; you name it. I like this this particular method because there is more flavor with each bite than if you were to bake the potato whole, and it allows the edges to get slightly crispy while the center stays chewy. It’s also very quick and easy for a weeknight.

Moist, sweet, and spicy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder or ground cayenne pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash your sweet potato gently and dry off. Feel free to peel the potato if you’re not a fan of the skin – I find I don’t really notice it when it’s baked.
  2. Slice the potato into 1/4 inch thick slices.
  3. Lay a piece of aluminum foil on a large cookie sheet and lightly spray it with cooking spray. Arrange potato slices on foil so that none of them are overlapping.
  4. Lightly drizzle olive oil over potato slices. In a small bowl, mix all of the spices together. Sprinkle evenly over potatoes. You probably won’t need to use all of the spice mixture.
  5. Bake for 10-15 minutes. I recommend checking them around 10 minutes by poking it with a fork, since everyone’s oven is different and you don’t want to burn them. When your fork pierces a slice easily and the edges are golden brown, you know they’re done.

I like to eat my sweet potatoes with Greek yogurt. I like how the tangy flavor balances out the sweetness of the potato. Ketchup or other dressings are also a nice complement. This time I served them alongside these Chili Lime Chicken burgers, which you can find the recipe for here.

Sliced Baked Sweet Potatoes along with Chili Lime Chicken Burgers
🙂

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Mr. Fed Up says:

    Wow, that looks really REALLY tasty

  2. Mr. Fed Up says:

    Actually, I just did a whole thing about sweet potatoes on my site…my quest is to get that amazing juice from them. If you even kind of like sweet potatoes, then you will LOVE this:
    http://fedupfood.com/2012/04/13/someone-please-bottle-this-stuff/

  3. These are so good…..i make them often! Thankyou for this easy and yummy recipe.

    1. hp11260 says:

      I’m glad you enjoy it! 🙂

  4. Lauren says:

    I am a traditional food junkie, so I made these in a cast iron skillet with ghee instead of olive oil and cooking spray. Delicious.

    1. hp11260 says:

      That sounds delicious! I’ve never cooked with ghee but growing up, my father would always cook meals in a cast iron pan and we always loved the flavor.

  5. Elsi says:

    Love the idea of chili powder on the sweet potatoes. Mine are in the oven right now and we’ll eat them at supper with pork chops.

    1. Sounds like a good combination, hope you enjoy!

  6. Dawn says:

    These are wonderful. I did modify by adding onion poser and Italian seasong. I also tossed them in two tablespoons of oil and used two sweet potatoes instead of one. Was a nice treat and it kept it under 150 calories for one portion (makes 2 portions) for a side dish.

  7. Joanne says:

    Good recipe. I usually just bake them whole but was short on time today. Simple yet tasty!

Leave a comment