Homemade Peanut Butter

Standard

Honey Cinnamon Peanut Butter

I recently learned how incredibly easy it is to make your own peanut butter at home. I’ve always been under the impression that homemade peanut butter was really chunky and gritty and bland, but I was totally wrong. I’ve been seeing a lot of recipes for homemade almond butter on foodgawker lately, but I’ve always been more of a peanut girl so I tried searching homemade peanut butter and came up with tons of results. One blog in particular really inspired me. The author has recipes for over 20 different types of homemade nut butters, using all different types of nuts and ingredients. I immediately knew I had to make my own, and it was so good that I don’t know if I will go back to store-bought.

Honey Cinnamon Peanut Butter (as adapted from edible perspective)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups lightly salted dry roasted peanuts
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp canola oil (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, add 2 cups peanuts. Blend for about 10-15 minutes, scraping down the sides every few minutes or as needed. It will be really dry and clumpy at first, but as you keep blending and stirring, the natural oils will be released from the peanuts and they will start to get smooth and creamy.
  2. Add honey, cinnamon, brown sugar, and vanilla extract. These ingredients will make your peanut butter clumpy again, so it may be necessary to add canola oil to break it down. Continue to blend to desired consistency.

Yep, it is really as easy as that. As long as you make sure to scrape down the sides of the food processor every so often, you’ll eventually get a nice smooth peanut butter. I would recommend starting out with less honey and brown sugar than you think you’ll need, and taste it as you go along  and add more as needed.  If you’re not a fan of honey or sweetness at all, the plain peanut butter by itself tastes pretty damn good, too. Or you can substitute honey for regular sugar.

One response »

Leave a Reply

