Raspberry Almond Summer Salad

Raspberry Almond Summer Salad with Goat Cheese

This past Sunday, I had a girl’s day out with my mother, sister Emily, Mirva, and little Naomi. We took a walk around a local park, ate at one of our favorite restaurants, and got our nails done. It was so nice to spend time with the girls in my family and I hope we start making a tradition of it.

This salad is inspired by the one I ordered at the restaurant, Not Your Average Joe’s. Their salad is called the Almond-Crusted Goat Cheese Salad, and I finished eating it before anybody else had even touched their appetizer… oops. I loved the lightly fried warm goat cheese and the way the fresh raspberries perfectly balanced out the tanginess of the goat cheese. Raspberries have always been one of my favorite fruits, but I only recently discovered that I really enjoy goat cheese. I decided to make a simpler version, using fresh crumbled goat cheese and chopped almonds. I’m not usually a big salad person, but this one has seriously kept me going back for more – I’ve had one a day for the past three days. Ha.

Raspberry Almond Summer Salad
as adapted from Not Your Average Joe’s

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh field greens
  • a handful of almonds, roughly chopped (I used Cinnamon & Brown Sugar, mmm)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh goat cheese, crumbled
  • handful of fresh raspberries, halved (or frozen, thawed)
  • 1-2 Tbsp light raspberry vinaigrette (I used Naturally Delicious brand)

Directions:

In a medium salad bowl, add field greens and then all other ingredients. Toss and enjoy. To make a meal of it, try adding some sliced grilled chicken.

Simple and delicious.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. trialsinfood says:

    sounds like a fun girls’ day out! beautiful salad, btw.

    1. hp11260 says:

      Thank you! It was a really nice day, I just wish I took more photos!

  2. Katie says:

    This is almost too pretty to eat! (…the operative word being “almost” 🙂 )

    1. hp11260 says:

      Haha, thank you! After taking 20-odd photos of it, I decided it was finally time to eat it. 🙂

  3. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

    1. hp11260 says:

      Thank you! I actually just use a pre-made theme that is available on WordPress. I played around a bit with the sidebars and menus, but other than that, the work was mostly done for me. I’ve been thinking of creating a header for this blog, though.

Leave a comment