Avocado Greek Yogurt Dip

IMG_4715
Hello everyone! I apologize for my absence over the past two weeks. August 12th, as I mentioned, was the first day of my new job and needless to say I have been pretty busy and tired.

I’m still in training and learning the ropes, but I like my job so far. The people on my team and in the clinic have been very friendly and helpful, and I feel like I’ve already learned so much (but still have A LOT to learn). I really enjoy working in the hospital – each day is fairly busy and I’ve seen a lot of interesting things and people so far. Working in such an established hospital is a great way to get exposure to things you normally wouldn’t, such as rare diseases and conditions and witnessing groundbreaking treatment. Each day I get off the Longwood T stop, I feel proud that I made it this far and that I’m now an employee of one of the best children’s hospitals in the world, however small my role may be.

Adjusting to my new schedule wasn’t quite as challenging as I thought it would be. As long as I get enough sleep, I feel pretty good throughout the day (though coffee is typically involved) and I haven’t needed any naps so far like I thought I would. It’s a little hard only having a few hours of free time when I get home in the evening, but I think once I figure out how to make the most of that time, it will become easier. Even though I don’t feel the need for naps on work days, I am just tired enough that I’ve been too lazy to cook and put together a decent meal. That’s something I’ll definitely need to work on because my diet has been suffering a bit and it’s not very economical for me to buy lunch multiple times a week. But I do walk about a mile each work day (half a mile from the t to the hospital and back), so that’s a plus.

Anywho, food. I’ve missed food and cooking and blogging and generally being a foodie. I almost started to forget that cooking relaxes and distracts me when I have a lot going on. For now, I think I may only be able to blog on the weekends but perhaps as time goes on I’ll figure out how to update during the week, as well.

This Avocado Greek Yogurt Dip is inspired by Trader Joe’s Reduced Guilt Chunky Guacamole. TJ’s Reduced Guilt Guacamole is mixed with fat-free Greek yogurt, which cuts out about half of the fat. At first I was unsure how my beloved guacamole would taste mixed with Greek yogurt, but I found that I actually loved it. The yogurt adds a nice tangy creaminess to the dip and complements the flavors surprisingly well.

The base of the recipe is actually identical to my guacamole, but with the addition of the yogurt. I chose to call it Avocado Greek Yogurt Dip mostly because I liked the way it sounded and I already have two guacamole recipes on this blog.

Avocado Greek Yogurt Dip
makes about 1 cup

IMG_4720

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe avocado, mashed
  • 1/4 cup diced tomato
  • 2 – 3 Tbsp diced red onion or shallot
  • 2 green onions, diced
  • 1/2 jalapeño, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small handful of cilantro, chopped
  • juice from 1/2 of 1 lime (about 1 Tbsp)
  • pinch of cumin
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
IMG_4708
Ingredients (don’t mind the unattractive appearance of my avocado…)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and mix thoroughly. Serve with chips, crackers, or veggie sticks and enjoy! Store in the refrigerator in an air-tight container and cover with plastic wrap to save for later.

IMG_4709
Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix it up
IMG_4710
and voila! Creamy, tangy, low-fat guacamole 🙂

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    This looks really good! What a good idea to use Greek yogurt. Thanks for sharing.

    1. It tastes great with avocado! 🙂

  2. Comcast Pers says:

    That looks awesome!!

    Sincerely, Dave

    Sent from iPhone so please humor any spelling errors.

  3. This looks delicious! Love how healthy it is 😀

  4. Omg can’t wait to make. I love guacamole !!! ❤❤❤

  5. Julia says:

    While I’ve always loved guacamole, I had never found a store brand that I liked; That is, until about two months ago when I stumbled onto the trader joe’s guac that inspired this recipe. I was hooked. Everytime I went into TJ’s I had to practically run past the dips to make sure I didn’t grab 2 or 3 tubs of the stuff. When I looked at the ingredients, I saw that it was all natural stuff and that I could probably replicate it. However, I knew that it would take some tinkering to find the right amount of each ingredient. Lucky for me, a quick google search lead me to this recipe… and it was perfect!!! I couldn’t tell the difference between this and the TJ’s one, except this one was sooo much fresher. You got the ratios between spicy, creamy, and guac-y (yes, new word) just right. Thank you so much for posting this recipe so I can have it whenever I want!

    1. Hi Julia, thanks for your comment! I too am in love with TJ’s creamy guacamole so it’s nice to have a recipe you can make at home to save you some money. I actually forgot about this dip for a while, your comment made me want to whip up a batch!

Leave a Reply

