S’mores Cookies

IMG_4697

Did you know that yesterday, August 10th, was National S’mores Day? Neither did I, but coincidentally I had planned to post this recipe for S’mores Cookies. I’m a day late but that’s still pretty good for just learning about this wonderful holiday yesterday.

It’s been a while since I posted a dessert recipe, and this is one that’s been floating around in my head for a while. A few months ago, I found these Marshmallow Bits at Target and so the idea for s’mores cookies was born. Everybody loves s’mores, and I thought it’d be fun to enjoy it in cookie form. (Side note, if you plan to buy these Marshmallow Bits, I recommend checking your local Target or grocery store first – I got mine for $1.50 rather than almost $8 as shown on Amazon.)

IMG_4666

These cookies also include crushed up Hershey’s chocolate and Biscoff spread. I included Biscoff in the recipe because to me, it tastes like ground up cinnamon graham crackers. Some other s’mores cookies or bar recipes include chunks of graham crackers but I wanted mine to have a chewier texture. These cookies have all the delicious flavor of s’mores, but in a neater and more convenient cookie form.

S’mores Cookies
makes about 30 cookies

IMG_4702

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tbsp butter (about 3/4 of a stick) at room temperature
  • 3 Tbsp Biscoff Spread or Cookie Butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg, whisked
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Hershey’s Chocolate bars (1.55 oz each), crushed or chopped into little pieces or 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup Marshmallow Bits or mini marshmallows
IMG_4640
Ingredients for the s’mores aspect of the cookies, plus the other ingredients listed. (I used about 2/3 of that bar, roughly equal to 2 normal sized Hershey bars, in addition to some mini chocolate chips)

Directions:

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. Whisk to combine and set aside.
  2. In a separate large mixing bowl, combine butter and Biscoff Spread. Pop in the microwave for 15-20 seconds, or until Biscoff is softened and can be easily mixed with the butter. Cream both sugars with the butter until fluffy, and then stir in whisked egg and vanilla extract.
  3. Combine dry ingredients with wet and stir just until incorporated. Stir in chocolate and Marshmallow Bits. If using mini marshmallows, you may want to add them to each cookie dough ball individually – see note at bottom.*
  4. Chill the cookie dough for at least 2 or up to 24 hours. (This step isn’t 100% necessary but is strongly recommended for thick, fluffy cookies.) Once dough is chilled, preheat your oven to 350ºF and roll into 1-inch balls (roughly 1 Tbsp each). Place on lightly greased cookie sheets.
  5. Bake for 13 – 15 minutes, or until puffy and beginning to turn golden around the edges. I like my cookies very chewy so I keep the time on the 13 minute mark. Let cool and enjoy 🙂

*If using mini marshmallows, it’s recommended to keep them off of the bottom or sides of the cookie dough ball because they may stick to the pan and burn. You can either smoosh the marshmallows into the top of the cookie dough balls, or stir them into the cookie dough mix and form the balls in a way that the marshmallows aren’t exposed to the bottom or side. If using Marshmallow Bits, you don’t need to worry about this step!

IMG_4642
Mix up your dough.
IMG_4651
Form into 1-inch balls
IMG_4654
Bake at 300º for 13 – 15 minutes, or until puffy.

IMG_4656

:)
🙂

I also wanted to mention that I start my new job tomorrow, so my posts may be a bit sporadic over the next few weeks as I figure out how blogging will fit into my new schedule. I am nervous but also really excited! So bear with me as I settle into my schedule and I’ll be back with new recipes as soon as I can 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. trixpin says:

    Oooh, how delicious they look!

    1. 🙂 some of my favorite cookies so far!

  2. Lo says:

    Oh my gosh, I WILL be making these… yum!

  3. LFFL says:

    Those cookies look so good!

    1. They were some of my favorites 🙂

  4. These look so delicious! Bookmarking this recipe–thanks for sharing!

    1. Let me know how they turn out if you make them!

Leave a Reply

