Strawberry Avocado Salad

Standard

IMG_4504

This salad is something I whipped up on a hot afternoon recently, as a way to avoid cooking, and decided that it was good enough to share the recipe. I’ve mentioned before on this blog that I really enjoy a good salad but I’m often too lazy to get out all the ingredients and prepare a salad. I have no problem prepping food for the meals I cook, but for some reason the idea of preparing a salad always turns me off. I’ve been trying to change that lately, and the warm weather helps.

This Strawberry Avocado Salad combines fresh summer produce with filling protein and leafy greens. I used avocado, a hard-boiled egg, almonds, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese for protein and healthy fats to keep me satisfied, and fresh strawberries and a light raspberry vinaigrette for sweetness. This salad is light yet filling and makes a perfect lunch. Next time I make it I would add grilled chicken. I also think a poppy seed or citrus vinaigrette would complement the salad nicely as well.

I was recently reading that a well-balanced salad includes nuts, cheese, something sweet, and acidity. I found this to make a lot of sense and realized I already tend to base my salads around these guidelines: Nuts, for protein and healthy fats; cheese, for more protein and a salty flavor; and something sweet and slightly sour to balance each other out. Nuts and cheese do add significant calories to a salad, but if you’re eating a salad as a meal, those calories are necessary to supply you with nutrients and keep you full. Opting for monounsaturated fats whenever possible and eating those fats in moderation will help to keep your diet in check, but that being said, I think it’s okay to splurge a bit when you’re really craving something.

Strawberry Avocado Salad
makes 1 salad

IMG_4494
Ingredients:

  • 1 small stalk of romaine hearts, rinsed and roughly chopped
  • 3-4 strawberries, rinsed and diced
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • 1 hard-boiled egg, crumbled
  • 2-3 Tbsp sliced almonds
  • 2 Tbsp raspberry or citrus vinaigrette
  • optional: sprinkle of parmesan cheese
  • optional: small breast of grilled chicken

Directions:

In a salad bowl, combine all ingredients and top off with salad dressing. Enjoy šŸ™‚

IMG_4501

One response »

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Avocado Salad | Start to be Healthy Now

Leave a Reply

