Roasted Red Pepper & Feta Dip

IMG_4310
Before I begin with today’s post, I have an exciting announcement to make. I have recently accepted a job in the cardiology department at Children’s Hospital in Boston! I found out a few weeks ago, but I wanted to have the official offer letter before announcing anything. I am beyond thrilled to have the opportunity to work at such an amazing organization, doing something I really care about. My job search was very long and challenging at times, so it feels so good to know that all the hard work and waiting was worth it in the end.

Another exciting piece of news is that I just signed a lease for a new apartment, along with my friends Jill and Kathleen. We were having a rather difficult time finding a place and were growing tired of dealing with unreliable landlords/realtors, but finally we found “the one” and were able to snag it before anyone else got to it! We’re moving in September and I am so excited. Finding an apartment in the Boston area during the summer can be pretty crazy, so we were lucky to find a place we all love and one that’s in a great location.

Now that I’m done job searching and apartment hunting, hopefully I’ll have more time for this blog!

Anyway, onto the food. Today’s recipe is very simple and a no-cook recipe because it is miserably hot and humid here in Boston.

This recipe comes from my Aunt Barbara. I tried this dip at her house a few years ago and fell in love with it. The base of the recipe is just five simple ingredients: roasted red peppers, feta cheese, white beans, garlic, lemon juice and your preference of spices. Everything is thrown together in a food processor and comes together in 20-30 seconds. It tastes a bit like red pepper hummus with feta added. It’s smoky, salty, and delicious and makes a great appetizer for a party or cookout. I usually eat this dip with crackers or pretzels, but it would also be great on a sandwich or wrap.

Roasted Red Pepper & Feta Dip
makes ~1.5 cups

IMG_4323

Ingredients:

  • 1 12 oz. jar of roasted red peppers, drained and roughly chopped
  • 4 oz. feta, crumbled
  • 1 15 oz. can of white beans (you could use cannellini, navy, great northern – up to you!)
  • 2 small cloves garlic, minced
  • juice of half of one lemon (1-2 Tbsp)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt, to taste
  • optional spices: red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, basil, oregano

IMG_4287

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth and creamy. Taste and adjust spices to your liking. Serve with crackers, chips, or on a sandwich and enjoy! Store in the fridge for up to 1 week.

IMG_4288
Combine all of the ingredients in your food professor, including spices. I used a pinch of cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, and basil.
IMG_4289
Pulse until combine and smooth. Adjust salt and spices to your liking.
IMG_4295
🙂

Leave a Reply

