Mongolian Beef

IMG_4202
Hello everyone! I apologize for my absence in the past week or so. Last week was a very busy week for me and I couldn’t find the time to write a blog post, let alone make nice meals for myself! I think I cooked one large meal last week and have been eating the leftovers for almost 5 days in a row… time for something new fo sho.

Mongolian Beef is a meal often found at Chinese restaurants in America made from thinly sliced flank steak and green onions in a sweet and slightly spicy sauce. I admit I’ve never actually tried Mongolian Beef from a restaurant and it’s not something that would have appealed to me a few years ago, but lately I’ve been craving an Asian-inspired meal. I’ve come across a few recipes for Mongolian Beef or other similar beef stir-fry recipes, and yesterday when I found sirloin tips on sale at the store, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it.

After browsing a few more recipes, I decided this one from The Daring Gourmet appealed to me most. Thinly sliced steak is sautéed in vegetable oil, and then cooked in a sweet and spicy sauce made from soy sauce, hoisin sauce, green onions, and other spices. I’ve heard hoisin sauce described as the “Chinese version of barbecue sauce” and it can be found in most international/Asian sections of grocery stores. I also threw in some vegetables for some extra color and texture, and served it over chow mein noodles.

This is one of the few times I’ve cooked steak on my own, and the first time I’ve posted a steak recipe on this blog. I really loved this meal and it inspired me to incorporate a little more red meat into my diet. It isn’t the healthiest recipe I’ve posted on here, but oh man was it good.

Mongolian Beef
adapted from The Daring Gourmet

IMG_4212
Ingredients:
serves 2

  • For the sauce:
    • 1/4 cup brown sugar
    • 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
    • 1/4 cup water
    • 2 tsp hoisin sauce
    • 1 tsp minced ginger + 2 tsp minced garlic
    • 1 tsp Sambal Oelek chili paste or 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
    • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 lb. flank steak or sirloin, sliced thinly
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1-2 tsp vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions
  • noodles or rice, to serve
  • optional: sliced onion and red bell pepper for stir-frying, sesame seeds to garnish

IMG_4176
Ingredients for the stir fry portion
IMG_4177
Ingredients for the sauce

Directions:

  1. To prepare the sauce, simply whisk together all of the ingredients for it in a small bowl. Set aside.
  2. If including stir-fried veggies, start by cooking them in 1 tsp oil in a large frying pan or wok until tender. Remove from pan and set aside. If serving meal with rice or noodles, prepare those at this time as well.
  3. Spread the thinly sliced steak onto a cutting board or plate and sprinkle with cornstarch. Heat the vegetable and sesame oil in your pan over medium heat and add steak. Cook until steak is browned on all sides, about 6-8 minutes. Remove the steak from the pan and set aside with the veggies.
  4. In your empty pan, pour in the sauce and let it cook over medium-low heat. When the sauce begins to simmer, whisk it gently for about 1 minute. Once sauce is thickened, stir in cooked steak and vegetables, along with the green onions. Cook for another 2-3 minutes and remove from heat.
  5. Serve the beef and veggies over noodles or rice and enjoy!

IMG_4183
Start by frizzling up some veggies. Set aside.
IMG_4180
To make the sauce, combine all of the ingredients for it and whisk together.
June Food1
Next, prepare your steak for cooking by slicing in thinly (I actually recommend slicing it thinner than I did) and sprinkle it with the cornstarch.
June Food2
Heat vegetable and sesame oil in your frying pan and saute the steak until browned, about 6-8 minutes.
June Food
After removing steak from the pan, pour in your sauce and cook over medium-low heat. Once the sauce begins to simmer, whisk it for about a minute until it’s thickened.
IMG_4200
Stir in your steak, veggies, and green onions and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes.
IMG_4211
Serve your awesome meal over cooked noodles or rice and enjoy!
IMG_4241
🙂

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. trixpin says:

    Beautiful looking dish!

    1. hp11260 says:

      Thank you! 🙂

  2. Cindy says:

    School is out for summer, the weather is finally nice…yeah, I’m busier than ever! Your dish looks delicious! I usually make chicken but, this beef looks yummy. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. hp11260 says:

      Yep, it’s definitely a busy time of year! I also tend to opt for chicken but it was fun to cook beef for a change!

  3. That looks delicious !

    1. hp11260 says:

      It was quite tasty, definitely one of my favorite Asian recipes so far!

  4. fionaward says:

    Oooh, that looks good!

    1. hp11260 says:

      It’s definitely up there with some of my favorite Asian-inspired recipes!

    1. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

