No-Bake Peanut Butter Energy Bites

IMG_4003

This is a recipe I’ve seen floating around Pinterest for some time and I finally got around to trying out when I realized I had a plethora of peanut butter (always a good thing). These little bites may not look like much, but boy do they pack a punch – not to mention they are crazy addictive.

I found this recipe on Gimme Some Oven and is one of the most popular recipes on their blog. They are similar to a granola bar, but in a miniature and convenient form. They’re filled with oats, peanut butter, honey, coconut flakes and chocolate chips and are wonderfully chewy and full of flavor. The original recipe called for flax seeds and chia seeds, which I left out, but they would add extra protein and crunch if you choose to use them. I played around with the ingredients a bit to suit my tastes, but feel free to stick to the original recipe if you prefer.

These bites are the perfect size to bring with you on the go or if you need a quick snack. I like to pop in one or two before the gym for a little pick-me-up. It’s recommend that you keep them refrigerated (which is how I like my granola bars anyway) but if you choose to keep them at room temperature, just keep in mind that they’ll need to be eaten within a few days or a week.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Energy Bites
adapted from No Bake Energy Bites on Gimme Some Oven, originally seen on Smashed Peas and Carrots

IMG_4011

Ingredients:
makes about 20 bites

  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I recommend salted)
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup honey or maple syrup (1/3 cup if your peanut butter and/or coconut is unsweetened)
  • 1-2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted (optional, but helps keep them together)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

IMG_3996

Directions:

In a medium mixing bowl, combine all ingredients and stir well until combined. Using your hands, roll the mixture into balls that are about 1 Tbsp or 1 inch big. My recipe made about 18 balls. Place on a large plate and refrigerate for 1 hour or more until firm. Store in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

IMG_3997
Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl
IMG_3998
Stir until combined
IMG_4000
Roll into balls that are roughly 1-inch big
IMG_4006
And enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. fionaward says:

    Fabulous idea, I must try these!

    1. hp11260 says:

      I definitely recommend them! Fun, easy, and quick 🙂

      1. fionaward says:

        I tried them last night and we loved them. You were right – so simple. And they even gave me energy to go for a run afterwards! 🙂

      2. hp11260 says:

        So glad to hear that! They’ve become my favorite snack for before the gym 🙂

Leave a Reply

