Chicken Caprese Salad

IMG_4012

I realized recently I don’t have enough salad recipes on here. Mostly because I don’t eat enough salad, which I’ve been trying to change. I do love a good salad but I often find myself too lazy to get out all the ingredients and chop them up – which is silly because I usually spend 30 minutes preparing most of my meals anyway.

Whenever I see the word “Caprese” on a menu at a restaurant, I get excited. Caprese is the classic Italian combination of fresh mozzerella, fresh basil, and tomatoes. It’s one of my favorite flavor combinations and is always sure to satisfy. A traditional Insalata Caprese doesn’t involve lettuce or greens of any type, but I decided to throw some into this salad for extra heartiness and some crunch, and chicken for protein of course. This salad is so light and fresh tasting  – perfect for summer.

I also threw together a simple homemade creamy balsamic vinaigrette for this salad. You can find balsamic vinegar near the other vinegars or olive oil in your grocery store and it’s relatively inexpensive. I used Greek yogurt (my staple) for the “creamy” aspect of the dressing, but you could alternatively use mayonnaise or heavy cream for a more authentic version.

Chicken Caprese Salad
serves 1

Ingredients:

  • For the dressing:
    • 1 Tbsp olive oil
    • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
    • 2 tsp plain Greek yogurt or mayonnaise
    • 2-3 tsp lemon juice
    • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • one small stalk of romaine lettuce (about 3-4 cups), chopped and rinsed
  • 1 small breast of chicken, grilled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup of cubed fresh mozzerella
  • 3-4 fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 8-10 cherry tomatoes, halved

Directions:

To prepare the dressing, simply whisk all of the ingredients for it together in a small bowl. Set aside. Place lettuce in a salad bowl, and layer remaining ingredients on top. Drizzle dressing over the salad and enjoy. 🙂

IMG_4015

2 Comments Add yours

  1. fionaward says:

    I’m the same. The word “salad” is a total turn-off for me, so I love to see salad recipes that get my tastebuds tingling 🙂

    1. hp11260 says:

      Yes, I find that I have to get extra creative when it comes to salads to find something that appeals to me!

Leave a Reply

