Greek Yogurt Pancakes

IMG_3863

That’s right. Greek yogurt pancakes. Two awesome things combined into one.

I was excited when I found this recipe for Greek Yogurt Pancakes on Everyday Belle because I had been looking for a slightly healthier pancake that still tasted like the real thing. When it comes to breakfast, I’m normally more into savory food such as eggs, omelettes, hash browns, bagels, etc. This morning, however, I woke up with a strange craving for something sweet and decided it was time to put these pancakes to the test. This was actually my first time making pancakes on my own and from scratch, and while they came out tasty, I do admit my flipping skills need work…

These Greek Yogurt Pancakes are incredibly fluffy, chewy, and only 4 ingredients. The flavor of the yogurt isn’t as strong as you might think, but instead gives the pancakes extra moisture and a super thick texture. The protein in the yogurt will also help to keep you full, which is always a perk in my book.

The pancake batter is pretty thick, so after reading through the comments on the original recipe, I added about 2 Tbsp of milk. If you’re using unflavored Greek yogurt, I would recommend adding some honey or sugar to sweeten the batter as well. A few commenters said whole wheat flour didn’t work very well with the recipe as is, but feel free to play around with it and see what you come up with. Next time I think I’ll add some chocolate chips or fruit! 🙂

Greek Yogurt Pancakes
adapted from Everyday Belle

Ingredients:
makes 1 large or 2 small servings

  • 6 oz. (or a little less than 3/4 cup) Greek yogurt – vanilla recommended!
  • 1 egg
  • scant 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • optional: 2-3 Tbsp milk to thin out the batter, dash of cinnamon, 2-3 Tbsp sugar or honey to sweeten the batter if unsweetened yogurt
  • toppings of choice: maple syrup, fruit, honey, yogurt, etc.
IMG_3845
Your ingredients, plus optional milk and cinnamon

Directions:

  1. In a bowl small, combine Greek yogurt and your egg. Whisk to combine, until smooth.
  2. In a separate bowl, stir flour and baking soda together until well-incorporated. Add to yogurt-egg mixture and stir well. Also add the milk and/or cinnamon if using.
  3. Lightly spray a large frying pan or griddle with cooking spray and heat to medium. Once your pan is hot, use a ladle or large spoon to drop the batter onto the pan. I got 3 medium-large pancakes out of the batter.
  4. When pancakes start to bubble on the surface and the edges have firmed up a bit, flip onto the other side. Once they’re finished cooking, serve with desired toppings and enjoy 🙂
May Food
Begin by whisking together your yogurt and egg until smooth
May Food1
Add your flour and baking soda to the yogurt mixture. The photo on the left is the batter without milk – very thick – and the photo on the right is after 2 Tbsp of milk is added.
IMG_3853
Spoon the batter into a lightly greased hot griddle or pan. Once the surface bubbles and edges are firm, carefully flip your pancakes.
IMG_3854
So… like I said, my flipping skills still need some work. But on the second try…
IMG_3856
BOOM. Nailed it.
IMG_3857
And voila! Fluffy and delicious Greek yogurt pancakes.
IMG_3871
I served mine with maple syrup and sliced banana.
IMG_3880
🙂

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I love fluffy pancakes they are my favorite, I usually go with one in the skillet. More then one has never worked for me..

    1. hp11260 says:

      Yes I love the fluffy ones too. And I think I learned I either need to do one at a time or get a bigger skillet haha 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to try this recipe. They look so fluffy!

    1. hp11260 says:

      They’re so delicious!

Leave a Reply

