Maple Roasted Chickpeas

IMG_3724

I had a brownie recipe that I was excited to share with you guys today, but unfortunately the batter just did not come together and I had to add a bunch of extra ingredients to get it to the right consistency. The brownies ended up coming out okay, but I didn’t feel confident about posting the recipe on here when I wasn’t exactly sure what went wrong. They were Zucchini Brownies, which I was excited about because I had never used zucchini in a dessert recipe before and they looked surprisingly fudgy and delicious. Oh well, better luck next time.

Luckily I had a back-up recipe in mind. Lately I’ve been seeing recipes for roasted chickpeas floating around the internet. I was skeptical at first, thinking the idea of roasting canned chickpeas didn’t sound appealing at all but many blogs claimed they were crunchy and addictive. I decided to give them a try and I admit I ate them all by myself in one night.. oops. Luckily they are a healthy snack, low-fat and packed with protein, so you don’t have to feel guilty about eating so much.

These Maple Roasted Chickpeas are a simple 4-ingredient recipe that makes a quick and healthy snack. I chose to use maple syrup because I’ve become quite fond of it over the past few months, but you could alternatively use honey or brown sugar. For a more savory flavor, you could use garlic, cumin, or cayenne pepper for extra heat. There are endless possibilities to how you can prepare them and they are incredibly inexpensive to make. My house smelled like french toast as these were roasting in the oven – mmm.

Maple Roasted Chickpeas

Ingredients:

  • 1 15 oz. can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Tbsp canola or olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup (I used the fake kind, but if you have the real stuff then go for it!)
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • optional: 1/2 tsp cinnamon

IMG_3712

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF. After draining and rinsing chickpeas, lay out on a paper towel and pat dry as much as you can.
  2. Pour chickpeas into a small mixing bowl, along with the remaining ingredients. Stir to combine.
  3. Spread chickpeas out on a baking sheet lined with foil in a single layer and cook for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes, until they are crisp and browned. Let cool and enjoy 🙂
IMG_3708
After rinsing and drying your chickpeas, add them to a bowl with maple syrup, oil, and brown sugar and stir to combine.
IMG_3709
Arrange chickpeas on a baking sheet and bake for at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, stirring every 10. I didn’t line my baking sheet with foil, but I recommend it because the maple syrup gets pretty sticky.
IMG_3714
Chickpeas will look something like this when they’re finished
IMG_3720
🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    Isn’t a bummer when you get a psyched to make something and then it doesn’t work…I hate when that happens. I too have seen lots of chickpea recipes, these look really good. Thanks for sharing.

    1. hp11260 says:

      Me too, it’s always a disappointment. The brownies ended up coming out okay in the end but I couldn’t even remember all the extra ingredients I had to add to make them edible-looking!

Leave a Reply

