Healthy Carrot Cake Muffins

IMG_3437

The other day I was browsing foodgawker and noticed how many carrot cake recipes were popping up. I’ve personally never associated carrot cake with Easter, but apparently many others do. All of a sudden I found myself craving carrot cake and began saving any recipes that looked good to me.

Of course I wanted my carrot cake to be lighter than your average slice, which can contain anywhere from 500 to 1000 calories – eek. I also decided I wanted them to be in the form of cupcakes or muffins. I found this Carrot Cake Cupcakes recipe on Baked by Rachel and thought it looked perfect. Since I slightly cut back on the amount of sugar and eliminated the frosting, I chose to call my version muffins rather than cupcakes.

These muffins have all of the flavor of traditional carrot cake, but at a fraction of the calories. I swapped out white flour for whole wheat flour and used honey instead of granulated sugar. They use applesauce and canola oil to keep them moist, rather than butter. One muffin has just 132 calories, 3.2 grams of fat, and 24.3 g carbs.  This recipe makes just 6 muffins, but you can easily double it. They make a perfect afternoon snack or even breakfast!

Healthy Carrot Cake Muffins
adapted from Carrot Cake Cupcakes on Baked by Rachel

Ingredients:
makes 6 muffins

  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 Tbsp canola oil
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup finely grated carrots (about 2 carrots)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat or all-purpose flour
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon

IMG_3405

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together applesauce, oil, honey, vanilla extract, and your egg. Stir in grated carrots.
  2. In a separate small mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour through cinnamon listed above). Whisk together to make sure all is well-incorporated, and stir into wet ingredients just until combined.
  3. Carefully spoon batter into your greased muffin tin. Fill each about 3/4 of the way full, almost to the top. Bake for 19-21 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool slightly before serving and enjoy 🙂
IMG_3407
Start by grating your carrots if you haven’t already done so.
IMG_3410
Whisk together the applesauce, canola oil, egg, vanilla extract, and gently stir in shredded carrots.
IMG_3411
Stir dry ingredients into wet ingredients just until combined.
IMG_3413
Spoon the batter into a greased muffin tin, filling each about 3/4 of the way full. Bake at 350 degrees for 19-21 minutes.
IMG_3416
The muffins are done when a toothpick can be inserted and come out clean.

IMG_3419

IMG_3423
🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    Those look delicious! I love that you made them healthier 🙂

    1. hp11260 says:

      They’re very light tasting but still have a lot of flavor – they remind me of pumpkin muffins!

  2. Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t
    loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the
    same results.

    1. Thank you for letting me know, I’ll work on fixing this!

Leave a Reply

