Banana Peanut Butter Milkshake

IMG_2940

Today I’m going to keep it short and sweet, because it’s Friday and because I’m lazy.

Did you know today is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day? To celebrate, I’m sharing a drink recipe I’ve been really enjoying for the past few weeks. I tend to go through phases where I eat a lot of peanut butter, and then I eat none at all for like three months. Right now I’m in a peanut butter phase and have gone through almost an entire jar of peanut butter in just a few weeks, which is normally unheard of for me. It’s probably because I recently bought my favorite type of peanut butter after not having any for almost a year.

Peanut Butter & Co. makes my favorite peanut butter in the whole world – The Bee’s Knees.I can only find it at one store back home, but last time I was visiting they were out of it. I picked up some Mighty Maple instead, which is almost just as good. Peanut Butter & Co. has 10 different varieties of peanut butter and they are made with all-natural ingredients.

pb

This milkshake combines peanut butter, frozen bananas, milk, and protein powder to make a healthy drink that’s perfect for before or after the gym. It’s thick, creamy, and tastes kind of like a banana split in drink-form. I’ve been having one after the gym and some days it’s honestly enough to motivate me to get off my butt and go exercise – knowing I can treat myself with a delicious (and healthy) milkshake afterwards.

Frozen bananas, when blended up, turn into an ice cream-like consistency without the help from cream or added sugar. If you left the milk out of this recipe, you’d have something similar to ice cream and I’m betting it would taste pretty darn good, too. This recipe can easily be made vegan if you use dairy-free milk, such as soy or almond. I used coconut milk because it’s my personal favorite. This shake is also delicious with coffee if you need an extra pick-me-up – just add 1/2 cup brewed coffee that’s been chilled. Yum!

Banana Peanut Butter Milkshake
makes 1 milkshake

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, cut into chunks and frozen (make sure you peel it and cut it into chunks before you freeze it or else you’ll be sorry!)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup milk (any type will work – cow’s milk, soy, almond, coconut, etc.)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder or 1/3 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp peanut butter
  • optional add-ins: 1/2 tsp cinnamon or cocoa powder

IMG_2918

Directions:

Add all ingredients to a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Sweeten to taste and serve immediately, or place in freezer for later use.

IMG_2923
🙂

Hope everybody has a great weekend!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. yummy, pb and banana shakes are the best. ever put in a little bit of almond extract? it adds a little bit of kick and its delicious

    1. hp11260 says:

      I haven’t tried that, but I have tried it with almond butter which is also delicious!

Leave a Reply

