Chocolate Cherry Smoothie & What I’ve Been Up To Lately

It is my goal, as I’ve mentioned before, to update this blog with a recipe at least once a week. The past month to month and a half have been especially busy for me, and I’ve found myself falling short of that goal multiple times. Not only did I have my wisdom teeth out last month, but I also moved into a new apartment right outside of Boston with two of my close friends from school! Senior year of college, we all dreamed of having a cute little apartment in the outskirts of Boston, but I didn’t believe it would really happen so soon.

The first few weeks of apartment hunting were full of ups and downs; in early September, we found an apartment we fell in love with, went through all the paperwork and were told all was going smoothly and we would be signing the lease within a few days, just to then be told that the owner chose other tenants (which we later found out was not true – ouch!) I was a little bit heart broken and still daydream about that apartment, but I suppose it was just too good to be true. In mid-September, we found another place that met all of our needs and decided to go for it, keeping our fingers crossed. This time we got lucky, and we now call that apartment home!

So the past couple of weeks, I’ve been sorting through all of my belongings and packing up my life. Last weekend, with the help of my family, I moved into our new apartment and have been living there for the past few days. Unfortunately, I realized I left my camera  at my mom’s and wasn’t able to upload any photos to this blog. I’m back at my mom’s to collect the last of my things, including the camera, so hopefully I can get back on track with weekly blog updating!

Anyway, before I moved, I photographed a delicious smoothie that I made. After I found frozen cherries at my grocery store the week before, I knew I had to somehow incorporate them into a recipe. This smoothie is packed with fruit, protein, a hint of chocolate, and lots of flavor. Feel free to add spinach or kale to get even more nutrients!

Chocolate Cherry Smoothie
makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen cherries
  • 1/4 cup sliced frozen bananas
  • 1/8 cup chocolate protein powder (or other flavor – optional)
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Taste and add any additional ingredients as you find necessary. (I added about 1 tsp sugar to make it a little bit sweeter. A splash of milk may also be needed if it’s too thick.) Serve immediately, or freeze for later use.

combine all ingredients in blender
yum!

Since I didn’t bring my camera to my new apartment, I’ve been using my iPhone to take photos of what I’ve been eating lately.

Made my 3-Bean Turkey Chili last week

Made a tofu & veggie stir-fry a few days ago

And I also wanted to share something cool I learned via Pinterest: If you buy green onions (scallions, or spring onions) and they come with the roots attached, you can easily grow your own at home! After you’ve used up the green parts, simply trim them down to where the white part ends and stick them in a small cup with an inch or two or water. Put them in a sunny location and the green parts will shoot up in a matter of days and be ready to eat!

When I came home last night, after leaving them for 5 more days (for a total of 9 days), this is what they looked like:

I’ve heard this also works for herbs such as cilantro and parsley. I found this exciting because those are things I buy every week at the store, and now I can easily grow them at home! Hopefully next summer I’ll have learned more about gardening and can plant a proper herb/vegetable garden.

Anybody else know of cool secrets/shortcuts like this that you’d like to share?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for this recipe. It looks really yummy.
    That trick with the scallions is an awesome idea. I might need to try that myself.

    1. hp11260 says:

      I’m sorry I didn’t respond to your comment sooner, I somehow missed it!
      I’ve had the scallion plant for a few weeks now and it’s still growing right along. I even started a second one too. So handy!

  2. I am so excited for you girls!! You are going to have so much fun and I hope to get to visit over christmas, especially if those peppermint brownies can make another appearance….;)

    1. …I may or may not have invited myself over…..oops

    2. hp11260 says:

      Yes, you definitely should! We are enjoying it here so far.
      I just saw a recipe on Pinterest the other day for peppermint fudge that I have been drooling over. Must make it soon.

  3. emilyrosemclaughlin says:

    oh muh gosh. peppermint brownies.

Leave a Reply

