Oatmeal Cookie Granola

I find that good granola is hard to come by. Like really good, crunchy, perfect clusters with just the right amount of sweetness. There was a really tasty granola that the dining halls at my school served, but I never found out what brand it is. Stop and Shop also has a great homemade granola selection if you’re fortunate enough to have an extended organic aisle at your local store. The best granola I’ve had recently, though, was made by Emily. Just the simple, cinnamon-vanilla-honey kind, but so satisfying.

Fresh granola is soo good and so easy to make, and the ingredients are likely to be sitting in your pantry at any given time. Granola is easy to personalize to your taste – you can add whatever nuts, dried fruit, seeds that you want, and flavor it to your liking . I was looking for just a simple granola, and when I found a recipe that claimed to taste like an oatmeal cookie, I had to try it.

I left out the flaxseeds, salt, and shredded coconut, but I did substitute 1 Tbsp of cream of coconut for 1 Tbsp canola oil. (Can you substitute a cream for an oil? Oh well. I’ve had this weird on-going craving for coconut lately that I can’t seem to shake.)

Another bonus is that this granola smells heavenly as you bake it, like Christmas or something.

Oatmeal Cookie Granola
adapted from Bake Your Day

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 Tbsp coconut cream or oil, if accessible
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300°F.
  2. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine oats, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Stir well.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine oil, honey, and vanilla extract. Pop in the microwave for 15-20 seconds, or until everything is melted. Pour melted mixture over oats and stir again.
  4. Lightly grease a nonstick baking sheet, or line with parchment paper. Spread granola onto baking sheet in an even layer.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes, stirring the granola every 10 minutes. Keep an eye on the granola, especially if you have an oven you know to cook quickly or be unreliable. Burnt sugar ain’t no fun (unless we’re talking about Crème brûlée, of course).
  6. Let granola cool. Serve with yogurt or oatmeal, and store in an air-tight container.
spread an even layer onto baking sheet…
… and bake until crispy perfection.

This granola really satisfied my craving for something sweet and crunchy. It was super tasty with yogurt and I even ate it as a cereal. It tastes like a cross between Honey Bunches of Oats (my favorite cereal) and an oatmeal cookie.

If you want to get more of that “oatmeal cookie” vibe, try adding raisins, craisins, or chocolate chips.

🙂
13 Comments Add yours

  1. Jill says:

    Yum! This sounds like a great version of granola. I bet I’d love it.

    1. hp11260 says:

      It’s pretty simple, but so satisfying. I’ve been stealing bites of it all day…

  2. So colors look so lovely. And granola with yogurt is a winning combination 🙂

    1. hp11260 says:

      Thank you 🙂 I love yogurt and granola, especially with some fresh fruit 🙂

      1. And those lovely colors out there… well can’t resist it 🙂

  3. Granola is amaaaaazing ❤ Such a good idea to use coconut cream! I love coconut everything, so this is right up my alley.

    1. hp11260 says:

      I agree Nicole, I have been all about coconut lately. In my oatmeal, my yogurt, and now in my granola!

  4. TiAn says:

    “Burnt sugar ain’t no fun (unless we’re talking about Crème brûlée, of course).” I like that. And I LOVE Honey Bunches of Oats. 🙂 I am going to make this!

    1. hp11260 says:

      Haha, well I know that’s the only time I enjoy burnt sugar, personally. Honey Bunches of Oats is my favorite cereal so I was so glad when the granola tasted like that!
      Let me know how it turns out!

  5. This turned out amazing! I doubled the batch & tweaked some of the measurements. After I spread it out on the sheet, I sprinkled some kosher salt on it. I love this stuff!

    1. hp11260 says:

      Oh good, I’m glad to hear that! It’s always nice to get feedback. I had never realized how easy and tasty homemade granola could be until recently!

Leave a Reply

