Guacamole Revisited

Standard

The Perfect Guacamole.

If you’re a follower of Hungry Hannah, then you probably have realized by now that I add avocados to almost everything I eat – sandwiches, eggs, on chili, etc. I usually eat 1-2 avocados a week. The first recipe I learned to make on my own was guacamole, and it’s also the first post I put up on this blog. Since then, I have been working even more on my guacamole and I think I have perfected it – at least for now.

I was also recently asked by the editor of the blog Healthy Way to Cook if I would be interested in writing a guest post for them, which I of course said yes to! Naturally, I chose to write about avocados, since I am so familiar with them. To see my guest post, click here!
It feels good to have my blog recognized by another more established blog, and I’m proud of how far it has come, though it is still in its baby stages. I’d also like to thank everybody who reads and/or follows my blog. It’s so great to have support from others, so thank you!

With that being said, I thought it would be appropriate to post an updated version of my guacamole. It’s still the same recipe for the most part, but I’ve made a few changes and have taken better photos of it. I decided red onions were a bit too strong for my liking and left an unfavorable taste in my mouth, so I substituted shallots, which have a slightly more mellow flavor. Garlic also adds a nice bite, and I just love scallions and have been putting them in pretty much everything lately.

Hannah’s Guacamole

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe avocados, skin and pits discarded
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 small shallot, diced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeds and ribs removed, diced (use half a pepper for less heat)
  • 1-2 Tbsp lime juice
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • ½ tsp minced garlic
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • small bunch of fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Your ingredients

Directions:

Using a fork, mash the avocados in a medium-sized bowl to desired consistency. Add all remaining ingredients and stir until well-incorporated. Serve with tortilla chips or to top off a sandwich or burger.

step 1: mash your avocado(s)

step 2: add all ingredients

step 3: mix thoroughly.

step 4: gobble it up. 🙂

10 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for the great guest post/recipe, Hannah! So glad to be able to feature such a great up-and-coming food blog on HWTC =) Btw, I’m planning on making your guacamole for a party I’m having tomorrow!!

  2. Pingback: Healthy Super Bowl Snacks « Stay Healthy, Stay Happy

  3. Just wanted to pop in and let you know that I’ve spent the past hour going through your blog and I LOVE IT!!! Something you said really encouraged me. You said that getting healthier has been a process and that everything didn’t change overnight. I’m in the beginning stages of getting healthier, and I see it the exact same way, one day at a time. I love so many of your recipes and can’t wait to keep coming back for more!! Great job!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Hi Kristen, I’m so glad you commented! I think that when it comes to living a healthier lifestyle, it’s important to take your time to really learn as much as you can and not rush it. Sometimes it’s tough, but it’s always nice to know others are in the same boat! I saw a good piece of advice online recently that said instead of trying to eliminate bad food from your diet at once, try introducing new healthy foods and soon you won’t have room for the bad foods (as much) any more. I thought that was a good way to look at things. Good luck and feel free to comment any time!

      • Exactly!!! That’s exactly what I told my husband!! I’ve failed time and time again in the past trying to cut everything out. So this time I’ve added tons of fruits and veggies in and my desires for food are quickly changing. I’m already, after only a week, truly desiring healthy food!! Love it! Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

