Nutella Fudge Cookies

Standard

I often find myself craving cookies after dinner or late at night and I can’t seem to rid myself of it until I find some. (Cookie monster?) I really love freshly baked chewy chocolate chip cookies, but a lot of the best recipes advise that you refrigerate the dough for at least a few hours (or overnight) to prevent the dough from spreading out too much in the oven. When I get a craving for a chocolate chip cookie, I don’t want it tomorrow. I want it today. Now, preferably.

I also have a new-found love for Nutella. My favorite ways of eating Nutella are on toasted bread, with strawberries, alone (not even kidding), or in cookies. Nutella is a great way to make your cookies chewy without having to refrigerate the dough for hours. After looking around a bit, I found a recipe on A Busy Nest for quick and easy Nutella cookies that that only have four ingredients: flour, egg, sugar, and, of course, Nutella. To that, I added chocolate chips for extra fudginess. And another bonus: they only take about 12 minutes from start to finish.

The measurements are easy to remember: 1 cup Nutella, 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1 egg. However, at 9 pm last night, I didn’t feel like making a whole batch of cookies. I really only wanted to make a few. So without changing the proportions, I majorly downsized the recipe so that it made exactly 3 cookies. Yep, just 3 cookies. My mom looked at me and asked, “…did you just make three cookies?” and I said, “…yes,” and we both burst out laughing. Maybe kind of crazy, but hey, if it works, it works.

Here’s the recipe:
as adapted from Four Ingredient Nutella Cookies on A Busy Nest

  • 1 cup Nutella
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

*Note: I only used half the amount of sugar the original recipe calls for and found that was sweet enough for me.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine nutella, flour, sugar, and egg in a mixing bowl and stir until blended. Fold in chocolate chips. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place on lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake for 7-8 minutes or until set, and let cool.

place cookie dough balls onto a greased cookie sheet, bake at 350…

…and 8 minutes later you have delicious fudgy Nutella cookies.

If you’re like me and only want to make a tiny-sized batch, all you need to remember is to keep the proportions the same. It’s a 1:1 ratio of Nutella and flour, and 1/2 that amount of sugar. The egg is a little bit trickier. If you have Egg Beaters, then those are perfect for this. If not, then you just kind of have to guess. As long as your guess is somewhere around the right proportion, the cookies will turn out fine. A little extra or not enough egg won’t harm the cookies too much.

14 responses »

    • I’d actually have to agree with you about the added sugar – I found that I only needed half the amount of sugar the original recipe calls for, but I also don’t like things that are too sweet so I wasn’t sure if it was just me. I’ll have to make a note of that in the directions!

  1. Fantastic recipe!
    In my eagerness to make these, I found myself about 1Tbsp short of Nutella.. I substituted this for 1Tbsp of peanut butter and added about 1/4tsp of salt to counteract the sweetness and to my surprise, they turned out great!! Thanks for sharing:)

    • That sounds delicious! Peanut butter and nutella are so good on their own, I bet they’re awesome together!
      Also, I apologize for responding to this comment so late. It somehow slipped by without me noticing and I just found it!

  2. Are you insane?! hahaha That is the best thing I’ve seen/read/heard in a long time! Nutella is yum, cookies are yum, that mean double yum! craziness! Thanks for sharing this – will def try it!

    – Sofie

Leave a Reply

