Baked Spinach Dip

Standard

Cheesy goodness.

When I started this blog, I had a plan to update it at least once a week. My last post was February 1st. Oops. School has been kicking my butt lately.

The other night I was looking in my fridge and realized I had a big bag of fresh spinach and a random assortment of cheeses I needed to use before they went bad. So I decided to whip up a spinach dip from scratch. I had never made spinach dip before, but the directions looked easy enough and I happened to have all the ingredients. I was pleased with how it came out, and even left over, it made a pretty satisfying midnight snack for my roommates and myself. I would have loved to add artichokes, but I didn’t have enough. Next time!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. package of fresh spinach, or one package of frozen spinach, thawed and excess water squeezed out
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small shallot, minced
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 8 oz. package plain cream cheese, softened (I used Neufchâtel cheese, which has 1/3 less fat)
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt or sour cream
  • 3/4 – 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Roughly chop fresh spinach and toss into a food processor, along with 1 Tbsp of olive oil. Pulse to desired consistency. Mine was very finely ground. If using frozen spinach, you can skip this step.
  2. In a small frying pan, heat up 1 Tbsp of olive oil. Add minced shallot and garlic and cook until softened, about 5-10 minutes.
  3. In a medium mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, Greek yogurt, ricotta cheese, spices, spinach, and about half of the Parmesan cheese (so ~1/4 cup). Stir until blended.
  4. In an 8 inch greased glass pie dish or 8 x 8 baking dish, pour mixture in and spread around. Top with remaining Parmesan cheese.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until cheese has turned golden brown. Serve with chips or veggies.
  6. Enjoy.
Leave a Reply

