Holy Guacamole :)

Standard

I decided it was appropriate that the first recipe I post here uses one of my all-time favorite foods: the avocado. I f-ing love avocados like no other. In guacamole, on sandwiches, burgers, salads, you name it. I even sometimes eat a few slices alone, with a sprinkle of salt or lemon pepper. They are creamy and have a divine flavor, plus it helps that they are full of heart-healthy monounsaturated fats and can help lower cholesterol.

I first tried homemade guacamole at a friend’s house and tried making it on my own, simply mixing salsa from a jar with mashed avocados (which is an easy and still fairly healthy way to make it if you’re pressed for time). When I started to become more interested in cooking, I decided to make it from scratch. It’s so tasty and satisfying, and you don’t have too feel too guilty while you’re binging on it (watch out for those chips though).
Here’s the recipe I generally follow:

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/2 a medium tomato, diced
  • 1/4 a medium red onion, diced (shallots work quite nicely too)
  • 1 jalapeno, seeds and stems removed, minced (you may want to use less if you don’t like too much heat)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • a few sprigs of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped scallions
  • 1/4  tsp  red pepper flakes if you’re feeling frisky

After removing the pits and skin from  avocados, cut them into chunks and toss in a bowl. I use a fork to mash them against the sides of the bowl. Add the rest of your ingredients and mix thoroughly. Sometimes I add a cup of black beans to my guacamole to make it more filling. OR half a cup of diced mangoes or pineapple gives it a delicious sweet taste.

I usually just eat guacamole with tortilla chips, but it also compliments burgers nicely.

Try it out and let me know what you think!

6 responses »

  1. Hi Hannah. I used this recipe today to go with the shrimp tacos I am making for dinner. I added garlic and I didn’t have jalapeños so I substituted chiles. Also used colorful red and orange tomatoes and it looks delicious. Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

